The Millennium Declaration

was adopted during the Millennium Summit by the world leaders who attended, striving to "free all men, women, and children from the abject and dehumanizing conditions of extreme poverty." By the end of the Summit, the Millennium Declaration's eight chapters were drafted, from which the Millennium Development Goals, originally developed by the OECD, were particularly promoted in the years following the summit. The delegates at this summit agreed on the following eight chapters.


1. Values and Principles
2. Peace, Security and Disarmament
3. Development and Poverty Eradication
4. Protecting our Common Environment
5. Human Rights, Democracy and Good Governance
6. Protecting the Vulnerable
7. Meeting the Special Needs of Africa
8. Strengthening the United Nations


The Millennium Development Goals were developed out of the above eight chapters. There are eight goals with 21 targets, and a series of measurable indicators for each target.


Goal 1: Eradicate extreme poverty and hunger
• Target 1A: Halve the proportion of people living on less than $1 a day
• Target 1B: Achieve Decent Employment for Women, Men, and Young People
• Target 1C: Halve the proportion of people who suffer from hunger


Goal 2: Achieve universal primary education
• Target 2A: By 2015, all children can complete a full course of primary schooling, girls and boys


Goal 3: Promote gender equality and empower women
• Target 3A: Eliminate gender disparity in primary and secondary education preferably by 2005, and at all levels by 2015


Goal 4: Reduce child mortality rates
• Target 4A: Reduce by two-thirds, between 1990 and 2015, the under-five mortality rate


Goal 5: Improve maternal health
• Target 5A: Reduce by three quarters, between 1990 and 2015, the maternal mortality ratio
• Target 5B: Achieve, by 2015, universal access to reproductive health


Goal 6: Combat HIV/AIDS, malaria, and other diseases
• Target 6A: Have halted by 2015 and begun to reverse the spread of HIV/AIDS
• Target 6B: Achieve, by 2010, universal access to treatment for HIV/AIDS for all those who need it
• Target 6C: Have halted by 2015 and begun to reverse the incidence of malaria and other major diseases


Goal 7: Ensure environmental sustainability
• Target 7A: Integrate the principles of sustainable development into country policies and programs; reverse loss of environmental resources
• Target 7B: Reduce biodiversity loss, achieving, by 2010, a significant reduction in the rate of loss
• Target 7C: Halve, by 2015, the proportion of the population without sustainable access to safe drinking water and basic sanitation (for more information see the entry on water supply)
• Target 7D: By 2020, to have achieved a significant improvement in the lives of at least 100 million slum-dwellers


Goal 8: Develop a global partnership for development
• Target 8A: Develop further an open, rule-based, predictable, non-discriminatory trading and financial system
• Target 8B: Address the Special Needs of the Least Developed Countries (LDC)
• Target 8C: Address the special needs of landlocked developing countries and small island developing States
• Target 8D: Deal comprehensively with the debt problems of developing countries through national and international measures in order to make debt sustainable in the long term
• Target 8E: In co-operation with pharmaceutical companies, provide access to affordable, essential drugs in developing countries
• Target 8F: In co-operation with the private sector, make available the benefits of new technologies, especially information and communications